News & Features

Softball Tourney Champs Bring Home Awards

The Fontbonne University women's softball team won the St. Louis Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Tournament (SLIAC) championship, earning them a spot in the NCAA Div. III National Tournament for the fourth straight year.

The Griffins made a clean sweep in the tournament, defeating Eureka College, Spalding University and Westminster College, all in five innings, to earn their fourth straight SLIAC Tournament Championship and improve to 33-10 on the season. The team, which has won 23 of their last 24 games, needs just one more win to set a school record for most wins in a season.

Fontbonne has claim to Player of the Year (Marissa Simon), Pitcher of the Year (Rachel McCarthy), Newcomer of the Year (Madi Leonard) and Coach of the Year (Bill Rosner).

In addition to these wonderful accomplishments, eight Fontbonne University softball players were named to the SLIAC 1st Team All-Conference Selection: Madi Leonard (P), Rachel McCarthy (P), Cassie Glixman (1B), Danni Glixman (2B), Marissa Simon (SS), Sarah Cerutti (OF), Shannon Fitzpatrick (OF) and Cara Hargate (AL).

Three other Griffin players were named to the Honorable Mention team: Caitlin Nappier (AL), Jessie Pratt (AL) and Emily Smith (AL). Pratt was also given All-Sportsmanship Team honors.

The following Fontbonne student-athletes were recognized on the SLIAC All-Tournament Team: Jessie Pratt (MVP), Emily Smith, Rachel McCarthy and Madi Leonard.

Learn more about playing softball at Fontbonne.