Academic Accreditation

The Accreditation Process

Fontbonne University is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission, an organization that accredits over 1000 institutions of higher learning in 19 states. An institutional accrediting body evaluates an entire organization and accredits it as a whole. It assesses formal educational activities and also evaluates governance and administration, financial stability, admissions and student personnel services, resources, student academic achievement, organizational effectiveness, and relationship with outside constituencies.

Accreditation is a voluntary process that has two fundamental purposes: quality assurance and institutional and program improvement. Fontbonne University participates in this process to ensure that its programs fulfill its mission: to educate students to think critically, to act ethically and to assume responsibility as citizens and leaders.

For our most recent accreditation, a team of over 80 faculty and staff members from Fontbonne assisted in the preparation of the self-study, which addresses how well Fontbonne meets the criteria for accreditation.

A copy of the 2010 Self-Study is available.

*The Higher Learning Commission is located at 30 North LaSalle Street, Suite 2400, Chicago, IL 60602-2504; 1-800-621-7440

Academic Accreditations

  • The Higher Learning Commission
  • Commission National Council for Accreditation of Educator Preparation (CAEP)
  • Council on Academic Accreditation (CAA) of the American Speech-Language-Hearing Association (ASHA)
  • Council on the Education of the Deaf
  • Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education
  • Commission on Accreditation Council for Education in Nutrition and Dietetics of the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics
  • Commission for the Council for Social Work Education
  • Accreditation Council for Business Schools & Programs (ACBSP)