News & Features

Fontbonne Installs New Chapter of Phi Kappa Phi

Fontbonne University officially installed its new chapter of the honor society of Phi Kappa Phi at its fall convocation ceremony.

Fifteen charter members, including both faculty and staff, welcomed 12 new initiates, including Fontbonne President Dennis Golden, Ed.D., and previous winners of the Joan Goostree Excellence in Teaching Award.

"Fontbonne University embraces academic excellence at all levels," Golden said. "The establishment of a Phi Kappa Phi chapter at Fontbonne is a visible sign of our continuing commitment to scholarly pursuits."

Fontbonne's Vice President and Dean for Academic Affairs, Nancy Blattner, Ph.D., is a charter member of the new chapter.

"Phi Kappa Phi has approved chapters at only 300 institutions of higher education in the United States, Puerto Rico, and the Phillipines," Blattner said.  "Fontbonne is honored to be among those elite institutions that recognize and reward academic excellence through this honor society."

Founded in 1897 at the University of Maine, The Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi is the nation's oldest, largest, and most selective all-discipline honor society, with a mission to recognize and promote academic excellence in all fields of higher education and to engage the community of scholars in service to others.

The new chapter will initiate students for this first time in spring 2007. Those elected into membership in Phi Kappa Phi include the upper 7.5 percent of last-term juniors and the upper 10 percent of seniors, along with outstanding graduate students, faculty, and alumni.  

Approximately 32,000 students, faculty, staff and alumni are initiated into the Society each year.  Student members have access to more than $700,000 in annual awards and scholarships, including study abroad grants.

Chapter President Sharon McCaslin, Ph.D., university librarian, expressed excitement about the new chapter.

"With the installation of this chapter of Phi Kappa Phi, Fontbonne University joins company with some of the best institutions of higher education in the country.  I am very pleased that we can offer our best students this nationally recognized honor," McCaslin said.