Investing in STEM Education for St. Louis

Located in Academic News,Campus & Community,General,News Stories
Share this article

(l-r) STEM Scholars Zane Brown, Mya Robinson, Zachary Jackson, Ethan Escobar and Paul Morrison will be attending Fontbonne in the Fall of 2018. Not pictured: Anna Luhmann.

Fontbonne University recently awarded $56,000 in new STEM scholarships, laying the groundwork for a new generation of cyber and technology experts.

The inaugural Griffin Technology Scholarship recipients were recognized at a campus ceremony May 4. Recipients earned awards ranging from $6,000 – $10,000 annually.The awards are funded by a grant from the National Science Foundation, recognizing Fontbonne’s leadership role in computer science, cybersecurity and bioinformatics education.

The STEM Scholars are:  Zane Brown of Blue Springs South High School, Paul Morrison of St. John Vianney High School, Ethan Escobar of Affton High School, Mya Robinson of Soldan International Studies High School, Anna Luhmann of John F. Kennedy Catholic High School and Zachary Jackson of Hancock Place High School.

In addition to pursuing rigorous academic degrees, the STEM Scholars will participate in service activities, internships and community outreach.

“Our program provides strong technical skills, while also preparing students to communicate well, work in teams, and make ethical business decisions,” said Dr. Mary Abkemeier, chair of Fontbonne’s department of mathematics and computer science. “Most students complete two internships while they are here, so our graduates are prepared to directly enter the workforce and make an impact.”

Learn more about the Griffin Technology Scholarship and mathematics and computer science at Fontbonne.